top of page

Pranzo della Domenica


If you plan on attending a traditional Italian Sunday lunch, then I highly suggest fasting the night before. What you are about to endure, can be described as a foodie paradise. Plate after plate, food is shared among the comfort of family and friends. As a devoted food photographer, I was in complete heaven. On the patio beneath orchard trees, we started our meal off by enjoying a plate of pasta bathing in clams and tomatoes.

After the clams, a pot of steaming hot mussels is served around the table family style. And of course, there is bread. Note to those of you not familiar with eating Italian food every meal of the day, bring a probiotic.

Singing out of the kitchen, next our host bring fresh fried potato crisps, which have been lightly fried in simmering oil on the stove. Alongside the potato crips, we enjoy cheese covered eggplants.

For desert, coffee is always a staple item on the menu. However, I was able to enjoy for the first time, a fresh picked fig. Before every trying one, I never understood the rave about figs. Honestly, I did not even know what they looked like inside their outer skin!

So now, I get it. Once peeled, the inside can be a little daunting. However, I would describe the taste as a combination of a grape and apple. Delicious!


RECENT POST
JOIN MY MAILING LIST
bottom of page