top of page

Shades of Burano

If seeking for a day escape from Venice, I highly recommend the small island of Burano. To many, Burano is a hidden gem, a secret from the thousands of tourist who flock to Venice every year. Roughly a 45 minute water-taxi ride from Venice, my Mom and I made the day trip on our last day up North.

When standing in the middle of the island, you can see the sea on both sides of you. How ever, being fairly small gives it its charm, I think! The island is occupied by fisherman and their families, who live in fabulously colored homes. The ancient story goes, each house was painted a bright color so that each fisherman could easily find his way home after a sea voyage. Sweet, huh?

I would describe Burano as Venice's adorable younger cousin -people can't stop taking pictures it! I was in photographer heaven.

Every window, door, and street is compiled of endless shades of color, which provide a feeling of artistic relief. Almost the equivalent of finger painting after a stressful day. (You could say Burano was fingerprinted by a three year old). The rules of color don't apply to the island, and shades are paired together in crazy combinations. But hey- "the crazier the better" suits as the motto for the island.

After walking around, my Mom and I stopped at the islands famous sea food restaurant for lunch.

Il Gato Nero is a must for sea-food lovers! The fish is incredibly fresh. So fresh that I witnessed the chef and a fisherman in costume chatting it up during our meal. I ordered the House Risotto, which was based in a fish broth, while my Mom happily enjoyed Pasta con Vongole.

After watching the sunset on the island, we hopped back on our water taxi to the main land!


RECENT POST
JOIN MY MAILING LIST
bottom of page