top of page

Destinations or Starbucks?


As many of you continue to follow my blog and travel endeavors, I am sure a few questions have come up. The most important being, "How the hell does this girl afford all these trips?!"

So... I think some explanation is in order. To start, being abroad has helped me appreciate and prioritize experiences over material items. It becomes very easy to choose between a weekend vacation or a new pair of designer jeans - especially when Europe offers cheap flights at your finger tips.

However, I have made a list of products I never been keen to buy, abroad or in the states, that have dramatically help me save money for my travel adventures!

1. Make Up

Don't get me wrong, I adore getting dolled up for special occasions, but my preference to skip makeup on a daily basis has saved me tons. Although I am sure I will get a huge lecture from my concerns friends, I tend to buy 2 tubes of mascara...A YEAR. For those of you who know a thing or two about mascara, you are advised to buy a new tube every month or so; but what can I say, I like to live life on the edge. Between bronzers and mascaras-I have learned to milk ALL my products to the last mineral.

Fun Fact: One MAC lipstick costs roughly $18! In my eyes, that is either a train ticket to Florence, or four pizzas. (Guess which I would choose.)

2. Vanilla Mocha with 1 Pump oPersonality

Mark my words right now, I will never drink Starbucks after Italy. Now I'll admit, I occasionally splurged and bought a Chai Tea Latte during the Holiday Season when I was in high school, but I have never jumped on the daily Starbs- Run bandwagon.

Fun Fact: People average spending $780 on coffee drinks a year! That is a lot of pizza. (Source cbsnew.com)

3. Name Brand Clothes, Bags,and

Shoes

I have am not interested in a pair of shoes that costs more than my months rent, nor am I willing to buy a bag that is more than $20. The new J. Crew coat? No thanks. Yeezys? No way. Lets go to H&M or raid a thrift store. Over the years, my ability to COMPLETELY miss fashion trends has saved my butt. Not only has it given me some great humiliation that I was told would help me, "build character," but it also saved me some serious bucks.

Fun Fact: I don't have a Fun Fact for this category, I got too frustrated researching the amount of money people spend on clothing items. Take my word for it, ITS ALOT.

4. Nails & HAIR

I have never gotten acrylic nails, however, my friends tell me once you start- you can't stop. NO THANKS.

Every 2 weeks? Once a month? Who knows how often, you are clearly asking the wrong person. However, I do know getting your nails done regularly can rack of a pretty steep bill. One appointment can cost anywhere from $35 - $60 for a mani and pedi.

I also have been cutting my own hair for years, thanks Mom. While in Italy, I have passed the baton to my host sister, who successfully gave me layers after watching one DIY Youtube video last week. Cutting my own hair at home has saved me $45 each time. Now that my hair is short, I consistently cut it every month, which has saved me roughly $540 a year. Woohoo!

Fun Fact: Nail polish is not good for you- but you know what is? Taking that $60 and taking a Northern Lights Tour in Iceland.

5. Alcohol & CigS

I have never had an interest in alcohol- although I love being social and hanging out with friends! Same goes for smoking. Night life in Italy is really fun because there is a sense of community in every bar you walk into. On average, I watch my friends blow $20 a night at the bars. In 'Merica, I am sure that number is doubled.

Fun Fact: The average person spends 1% of their income on drinks and cigarettes a year! Example: If your income is $40,000- thats $400 dollars baby.


RECENT POST
JOIN MY MAILING LIST
bottom of page